'The school has the county council's gold standard for looking after young carers. These pupils are very well supported.' Ofsted

Young Carers

At DGS we are aware that some students may well have caring roles at home. We believe that all children and young people should have equal access to education, regardless of what is happening at home.

When a young person looks after someone in their family who has a disability, suffers mental or physical ill-health or other health-related issues, they may need a little extra support to help them get the most out of school. We have been working to raise awareness amongst the wider staff team of the particular needs that young carers may have. In this way we aim to provide a supportive environment for those students who may have more responsibility at home than their peers.

If your child is a Young Carer please contact the relevant Head of Year or Student Manager attached to your daughter's year group to find out more about how we can support your daughter.

 

Young Carers Lead Tina Vidovic (tvidovic@didcotgirls.oxon.sch.uk)

Year 7 Sarah-Jane Smith (sjsmith@didcotgirls.oxon.sch.uk)

Years 8 Katie Ross (kross@didcotgirls.oxon.sch.uk)

Year 9 Sarah Berrill (sberrill@didcotgirls.oxon.sch.uk)

Year 10 Cathy Pearl (cpearl@didcotgirls.oxon.sch.uk)

Year 11 Jackie Herniman (jherniman@didcotgirls.oxon.sch.uk)