Heads of Year

There are seven Heads of Year at Didcot Girls’ School. Their role is to ensure that the School’s values and standards are promoted and maintained throughout every aspect of the school day. The Heads of Year monitor the progress of each student in their year group and work closely with families to support students throughout their school life.

Mr Manning (Deputy Headteacher, Culture & Standards), overviews the work of the Heads of Years in Years 7-11 and holds overall responsibility for excellent standards of behaviour and attendance across the school. Miss Roberts, Assistant Headteacher and Raising Standards Leader, carries overall responsibility for standards of achievement in Year 11. Mr Willett is Director of the Didcot Sixth Form College and overviews the work of the Heads of Years 12 and 13 at both Didcot Girls' School and St Birinus School.

The Heads of Year lead a team of tutors who meet  with their tutor groups every morning. During this time, tutors are able to spend time with individuals and groups of students to monitor their academic progress and well being.  

The main work of the Heads of Year, with the support of tutors and our excellent Student Managers, is to monitor the academic progress and pastoral well being of each student. Through this support team, students will be guided appropriately through the key stages of their time with us – for example, transition from Primary School, choosing GCSE Options, advice on work experience placements and post-16 possibilities. Heads of Year and tutors will move up the school with their tutor groups, becoming experts in the needs of each particular year, and thus able to offer high quality advice and guidance to each student.

We have both non-teaching Heads of Year and teaching Heads of Year and the latter are supported by full time non-teaching Student Managers. The Heads of Year and Student Managers are:


Year
Position
Name
Email
7 Head of Year Mr A Tamplin atamplin@didcotgirls.oxon.sch.uk
Student Manager Miss SJ Smith sjsmith@didcotgirls.oxon.sch.uk
8
Head of Year
Mrs A Bass abass@didcotgirls.oxon.sch.uk
Student Manager
Miss K Ross
9 Head of Year &
Student Manager
Mrs S Berrill sberrill@didcotgirls.oxon.sch.uk
 
 
10
Head of Year &
Student Manager
Mrs C Pearl cpearl@didcotgirls.oxon.sch.uk
   
11
Head of Year
Mrs C Fisher cfisher@didcotgirls.oxon.sch.uk
Student Manager
Mrs J Herniman jherniman@didcotgirls.oxon.sch.uk
12 Head of Year Miss C Hanna channa@didcotgirls.oxon.sch.uk
13 Head of Year Mr I Black iblack@st-birinus.oxon.sch.uk

 

>