Latest News

DGS and SBS students past and present nominated for Didcot Town Council Awards 2020

Posted on: 17/11/2020

Didcot Girls' School and St Birinus School are delighted that one current student and three ex-students have been nominated for the 2020 Didcot Town Council Awards.

The awards recognise and pay tribute to the people of Didcot who go the extra mile for their community.


The Community Awards are now in their third year and nominations have been received for Didcot-based groups or individuals who have given their time and energy to improve the environment of the town. This year, due to COVID-19, winners will be announced via a video message in early December.


Andrew BakerAndy Baker BCAv (ex-SBS student and founder of the fundraising organisation Play2Give that raises funds for local charities including Oxford Children's Hospital) has been nominated for the John Eldridge Award for Voluntary Service.


Courtney Hughes BEM (ex-DGS student and founder of Secret Santa 365, Courtney Hughesdistributing gifts and essential items to the sick and vulnerable across the nation) has also been nominated for the John Eldridge Award for Voluntary Service, as well as receiving nominations in the Unsung Hero and Lifetime Achievement categories.


Sophie Purbrick (ex-DGS student, who won an Outstanding Student award while studying at Didcot Sixth Form and graduated with first class honours in Animal Behaviour and Welfare from Harper Adams University) received a nomination in the Artistic category for creating beautiful artwork that she sells to help raise money for charity and to support zoos that are closed due to the pandemic.


Daniel LloydDaniel Lloyd (Year 11 SBS student) received a nomination in the Young Volunteer/Charity Fundraiser category for his enterprising and successful fundraising, and for promoting the mental health of students through Markers for Mindfulness, where schools receive donated stationery and essential supplies so that they can divert funds to improve student wellbeing.


We wish all these nominees every success and congratulate them on the outstanding way in which they have contributed to the community.



Back to News ListPreviousNext



Back to Top